The Leading Hotels of the World Announces Award Winners and Introduces “Leading Legends” During Its Annual Convention


The Leading Hotels of the World completed its 2010 Annual Convention with a black-tie gala in Tokyo’s world-famous Imperial Hotel. One of the highlights of the evening was the award and recognition ceremony.


Leading Legends Awards launched at this year’s event. This annual tribute honors individual hoteliers who have made meaningful contributions to the preservation and advancement of independent luxury hotels.

Ms. Elisabeth Gi¼rtler, Chief Executive Officer, Sacher Hotels

Ms. Gi¼rtler carved a special place for herself among the world’s outstanding hoteliers with her keen ability to anticipate developing international trends and adapt them specifically for her hotels. In marrying trend with tradition, she coined the term “trendition” for her properties. Beyond her intensive involvement with her hotels, this Leading Hotelier is also a leading light in her city: as director and organizer of the legendary Opera Ball; and, the first woman to serve as the director of the acclaimed Spanish Riding School.

Mr. Gordon Campbell Gray, Chairman, CampbellGray Hotels, Ltd.

Mr. Gray’s distinct perspective and sense of social responsibility ushered in a fresh era in hotel keeping. Long before “green” became an industry buzz word, he established himself as a leader in promoting sustainable practices in the luxury sector, while supporting local community outreach programs. “Stuffy” is the last word that one would apply to this man or to his hotels. His hotels convey a sense of sophisticated authenticity to their destinations, while eschewing the pretensions of the grand hotel.

Mr. Ichiro Inumaru, President Emeritus, Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Mr. Inumaru’s name is inextricably woven with that of his illustrious hotel, where he began his hospitality career more than six decades ago in 1949, working his way up the ranks. The reward for his labors was his appointment as General Manager in 1970, and later, being named as President in 1986.

*Leading Legends Award winners were nominated by their fellow hoteliers, and all submissions were reviewed by a panel of judges which included Jean-Jacques Gauer, General Manager, Lausanne Palace & Spa; architect and designer Donald Goo; Travel + Leisure’s Editor in Chief and Editorial Director of American Express Publishing Corporation, Nancy Novogrod; and renowned hotelier, Georg Rafael.

Commitment to Excellence Awards

The company presented the Fifth Annual Commitment to Excellence Awards, acknowledging hotels whose concept of service extends beyond their immediate walls, and whose exceptional efforts exert a positive impact on our world in the areas of the environment, community outreach and cultural support.

Commitment to the Environment

Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa, Blue Mountains, Australia

Commitment to the Community

The Nam Hai, Hoi An, Vietnam

Commitment to Culture

Halekulani, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Commitment to Quality Awards

The winners of the Ninth Annual Commitment to Quality Awards were also announced, with members in five regions: Europe, Middle East & Africa, Asia & Pacific, North America, and South America, Mexico, and The Caribbean. The winners were those properties which achieved the highest Leading Quality Assurance scores during the period from July 2009 to June 2010.


Hotel Metropole, Monte Carlo, Monaco

Carlton Hotel, St. Moritz, Switzerland

Middle East and Africa

La Cigale Hi´tel, Doha, Qatar

The Residence Tunis, Les Ci´tes de Carthage,Tunisia


One&Only Reethi Rah, North Male Atoll, Republic of Maldives

The Chedi Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand

North America

Encantado – An Auberge Resort, Santa Fe, NM, USA

SKYLOFTS at MGM Grand, Las Vegas, NV, USA

South America, Mexico and the Caribbean

Emiliano, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Leaders Club Awards

The winners of the Twelfth Annual Leaders Club Awards were revealed. The principal criteria in determining the winners were responses to post-stay questionnaires and letters received by the Leaders Club Services Department from Club members themselves.

This year’s winners of the Leaders Club Guest Recognition Awards of Excellence were Hi´tel de Paris, Monte Carlo, Monaco; Hotel Sacher Wien, Vienna, Austria; and Excelsior Hotel Ernst, Cologne, Germany.


Hotels that ranked number one in each of their categories also were honored on the closing night of the convention. Each winner received a watch provided by long-time Leading Hotels sponsor and supporter Blancpain, and a special trophy from Tiffany.

The Grand Prize Winners were:

Leaders Club Grand Prize Winner

Hi´tel de Paris, Monte Carlo, Monaco

Commitment to Quality Grand Prize Winner

Hotel Metropole, Monte Carlo, Monaco

Commitment to Excellence Grand Prize Winner

Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa, Blue Mountains, Australia

Posted 12/9/10.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email